JUST IN: Akpabio emerges Senate President of 10th National Assembly

2 Min Read

Senator Godswill Akpabio on Tuesday emerged as the new President of the Senate and leader of the National Assembly, after a keenly contested race, and at the end of voting by the federal lawmakers.

Voting commenced after Senator Ali Ndume nominated Senator Akpabio, favoured by the ruling All Progressives Congress {APC} for Senate President, while Senator Elisha Abbo nominated former Governor of Zamfara State, Abdullaziz Yari for the same position.

READ ALSO:Akpabio, Tajudeen’s pick for NASS leadership mere recommendations – APC

Akpabio’s nomination was seconded by Senator Olamilekan Solomon Yayi from Ogun state.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *